In every US state, drivers must carry auto insurance. Instead of setting the requirement for auto insurance at the national level, in the US, each state sets its own auto insurance requirements. The state of Connecticut requires drivers to carry auto insurance that provides liability coverage for physical damage to the vehicle and physical or mental injury to the person traveling in the vehicle.
Connecticut Motor Vehicle Insurance Requirements
The liability coverage that the state requires – 25/50/25 – only provides coverage that protects the other drivers on the road. The bodily injury coverage provides $25,000 of coverage per person per accident, while the $50,000 figure refers to the total amount of bodily injury coverage for all individuals per accident. The third figure represents the $25,000 of personal property coverage required by the state.
The state lets you increase your auto coverage beyond those required minimums, but you cannot legally drive on its roads without meeting those minimums. It’s a good idea to carry more than the required liability insurance since many auto accidents can quickly cause you to exceed your coverage. When that happens, you pay out of pocket for the remaining bills or court settlement.
Enhancing Your Auto Insurance Coverage
You don’t have to accept only a minimum amount of coverage for your vehicle parked in Griswold, CT. Trahan Insurance Agency LLC offers many ways to improve the coverage you purchase, such as comprehensive and collision, which are not legally mandated. Both collision and comprehensive coverage pay for repairs to your automobile, whether they occur in a single-vehicle accident or a multiple-vehicle accident that you or another individual caused.
Contact Us Today
Contact Trahan Insurance Agency LLC today for automobile insurance to cover your vehicle parked in Griswold, CT. Let us help you obtain the vehicle coverage you need to protect your financial security.